Shop for Chicago Bears gear at

The Fav 5 to Lead: Bears announce Team Captains for 2007


Now this is definitely a strong and impressive Top 5 List for the Monsters of the Midway, to be meeting out front and center in San Diego for a showdown this Sunday for the NFC Champions of the Windy City:

As the Chicago Bears on Monday named their five captains for the 2007 season with players voting for All-Pro Center Olin Kreutz and WR Mushin Muhammad on offense, All-World MLB Brian Urlacher and veteran leader, Safety Mike Brown on defense and Brendon Ayanbadejo on special teams.

The only change from last season is Ayanbadejo switching with ironman, long-snapper Patrick Mannelly.

“I rely on captains quite a bit,” said coach Lovie Smith. “It’s not just a go-out-for-the-coin-toss type of situation.”

The NFL announced at its league meetings in May that a greater emphasis would be placed on team captains, an idea that was suggested by players during a meeting of Commissioner Roger Goodell’s new six-member Player Advisory Council.

The Bears’ five captains have been voted to a combined 16 Hawaii trips, with Urlacher and Kreutz leading the set with six “Aloha” invitations apiece. Muhammad was chosen twice when he played for the Carolina Panthers, while Brown and Ayanbadejo have each been picked once.

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Bears Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Leave a Reply

Write For Us